top of page
  • Writer's pictureJason DeSomer

Inspiring.

Updated: May 4, 2019



I am a gigantic Star Wars fan. Since I was the youngest of lads I had been told the greatest stories of wonderment, all regarding Star Wars.


My father took my mom on dates in our small town to Star Wars. My dad very interested, my mom, not so much. He had told me that he went to see the original Star Wars film at the Holly Theater in the amount of 30 or 40 times.



My Aunt Sharon, one of the coolest people I've ever known, gave me one of her Star Wars original collection of figures, a Jawa, which has been my jam since I was the most youngest of lads. She had an original Revenge of the Jedi poster and a plethora of unopened Star Wars figures. I would come over to her place and she would just let me go through her box of Star Wars collectibles and ask questions, look at all them, set them up, see the concept art and just have a blast!



I've spent much of my life inspired and fantasizing about the Star Wars universe but have rarely had the opportunity to explore my sort of creativity in that realm. Lucky for me, being a photographer, I have accumulated some wonderfully talented friends who use their skills and creativity to engulf themselves in the Star Wars universe and team up with me to create some amazing art!



My friend Emma, from Carma Cosplay in Portland, Oregon is exceedingly talented and is one of the models I have worked with most at this point, including when we worked together recently for her Rey cosplay, from the most recent Star Wars films.




Both Emma and Carly, the duo that form "Carma" are gigantic Star Wars fans. Both hunkering down on sick days and re-watching Star Wars: Return of the Jedi on a regular basis. Emma, loving the battle of Endor and Carly loving Jabba the Hutt's Palace, which made their combination of love for Star Wars only natural.


Emma even chose to name her beautiful White Swiss Shepherd "Rey" in honor of the character she is portraying in these photos! Feel free to follow Rey on Instagram!





Fun fact, there were 3 dogs running around our feet for this whole shoot. It was perfect and they are perfect.


Left to Right: Lil "Nacho" Supreme, Rey, Bastion

As with everything out there, look into it and see if it fires off your creative juices! Go forward and create, or at very least, enjoy it!


May the Force be with you, always.


~Jason DeSomer


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page